Monosyllabic writing exercise

I took a creative writing workshop at the library today and one of the exercises was to write about something using only monosyllabic words. Thank the Gods for Germanic roots; this was really hard!

She cuts. Knives. Sharp. Blood. Flow my tears. Carve this pain in my heart, then slice it out. Make me clean. Do wounds heal? Night crawls through my soul, creeps on my skin. Cold thoughts. Eyes see red. Tossed by winds, the heart feels one, then two, then three. Cut. All made one. Blood. All made two. Cold. All made three. Breathe. Stop? Start.

Try it, it’s fun!

Leave a Reply

