Miscellaneous Pagan prayers

I have kept a notebook of prayers for many years that has brought me wisdom, challenge, and comfort. Here are a few of my favorites:

This day is your love-gift to me
This dawn—I take it from your hand
Make me busy in your service throughout its hours
Yet not so busy that I cannot sing a happy song.
And may the south wind blow its tenderness through my heart
That I bear myself gently towards all.
And may the sunshine of it pass into my thoughts
So that each shall be a mirror of your thoughts,
Noble and right.
– Hebridean Altars, Alistair MacLean, 1937

 

Brighid of the Mantle, encompass me,
Lady of the Lambs, protect me,
Keeper of the Hearth, kindle me.
Beneath your mantle, take me,
And restore me to memory.

Mothers of my mother,
Foremothers strong,
Guide my hands in yours,
Remind me how to kindle the hearth,
To keep it bright, to preserve the flame.
Your hands within mine, my hands within yours,
To kindle the light, both day and night.

The Mantle of Brighid about me,
The Memory of Brighid within me,
The Protection of Brighid keeping me
from harm, ignorance, and heartlessness,
This day and night,
From dawn till dark,
From dusk till dawn.
– Invocation to Brighid, Caitlín Matthews

 

Every day, every night
that I praise the Goddess,
I know I will be safe:
I shall not be chased,
I shall not be caught,
I shall not be harmed.
Fire, sun, and moon
Cannot burn me. Nor
lakes nor stream nor sea
Can drown me. Fairy
arrow cannot pierce me.
I am safe, safe, safe,
Singing her praises.
– Prayer to Brighid

 

Yes! I will be there
for the revels—
tossing my head
and dancing on the dew.
I will be there, yes! free
in the glad greenwood,
leaping like a deer
who fears no hunter.
There I will dance
with no man watching,
There I will find wisdom
in forest shadows.
Is there any gift greater
than feeling such joy?
– The Bacchae, Euripides

 

I will face my fear.
I will permit it to pass over me and through me.
When it has gone past
I will turn the inner eye to see its path.
Where the fear has gone,
there will be nothing.
Only I will remain.
– Bene Gesserit Litany Against Fear, Frank Herbert

 

With my breath
I release these thoughts to the wind.
Breath to breath,
Wind to wind.
May the great wind carry these thoughts
far from me, dispersing them,
disempowering them.
With each new breath
I invoke serenity.
With each new breath
I invoke peace.
With each new breath
I invoke faith in my self.
Breath to breath,
Wind to wind.
I am a child of the Earth,
and her strength sustains me.
– Cairril Adaire

 

Mother, goddess, show me the secrets of my heart.
Show me where I have wandered off my path.
Show me how to find my path again.
Fly before me, illuminating my path.
Fly before me, showing me the broad road
into my best future. Show me the way!
Prepare the way for my searching feet!
O mother of light, you who dwell in the south
on nine wooded hills, O show me the way!
– Siberian shaman

 

Brighid went out in the early dawn,
and saw a horse with a shattered leg.
Bone to bone she knit, flesh to flesh.
Vein to vein she sewed, sinew back to sinew.
Brighid, by her woman’s power, healed that.
I, by my woman’s power, heal this.
– Trad. Irish song

 

You ask, mountain ash,
why I am sad.
You ask, green one,
why I am sad.

Surrounded by trees
I grew green myself.
Now frost takes my flowers,
wind tears off my leaves.

You ask why I am sad?
Everything is taken away,
and I am too young
to endure this sorrow.
– Lithuanian folksong

 

Janus, god of doorways,
bless my goings out,
bless my comings in.
– Ceirsiwir Smith

 

I drop my fears into your ocean
and watch them sink from sight.
I place my fears upon your broad Earth
and see them pass away.
I put my fears into your hands
and they are no more.
When you offer your arms to me,
Great Mother,
your hands hold nothing but love.
– Adapted from Ceirsiwir Smith

 

If I have harmed anyone in any way
either knowingly or unknowingly
through my own confusions
I ask their forgiveness.
If anyone has harmed me in any way
either knowingly or unknowingly
through their own confusions
I forgive them.
And if there is a situation
I am not yet ready to forgive
I forgive myself for that.
For all the ways that I harm myself,
negate, doubt, belittle myself,
judge or be unkind to myself
through my own confusions
I forgive myself.
– Buddhist prayer

 

May I be a guard
for those who are protectorless,
A guide
for those who journey on the road;
For those who wish to go across the water,
May I be a boat, a raft, a bridge.
– Bodhisattva vows

 

You will never find me
among the chaff.
The Dearest Goddess leads me;
my Dearest Goddess
will lift me up
to the mountain top.
– Latvian daina

 

The Goddess blesses me,
for I am fair and strong;
The Goddess blesses me,
for I am valiant and loving;
The Goddess blesses me,
for I am nurturing and generous.
– Z Budapest

 

I drop my fears into your ocean
and watch them sink from sight.
I place my fears on your broad Earth
and see them pass away.
I put my fears into your hands
and they are no more.
When you offer your arms to me, Great Mother,
your hands hold nothing but love.

 

I too am a star, wandering around together with you, shining out of the depths.
– ancient Greek prayer to the Gods when beginning trance work (Peter Kingsley)

 

The Goddess blesses me,
for I am fair and strong;
The Goddess blesses me,
for I am valiant and loving;
The Goddess blesses me,
for I am nurturing and generous.
– Z Budapest

 

Earth, when I am about to die,
I lean on you.
Earth, while I am alive,
I depend on you.
– Akan people, Ghana

 

I am grateful
I am ever grateful
I am so grateful
That I am home.
– Given to me by the Goddess

 

I will face my fear.
I will permit it to pass over me and through me.
And when it has gone,
I will turn the inner eye to see its path.
Where the fear has gone there will be nothing.
Only I will remain.
– Frank Herbert, Bene Gesserit “Litany Against Fear”

 

Make my mind like water,
Clinging to nothing and untroubled.
– Excerpt from The Charge of the Morrighan

 

Note: “Brighid” is pronounced “breed.” Those damn Irish.

I haven’t always included attributions in my prayer book, so if I’ve labeled these in error, please correct me. I’ve left out a lot of praise prayers, but this should give you a general idea of the types of situations I have refuge for. If you have favorite prayers, please feel free to leave them in the comments. Blessed Be!

Leave a Reply

