Curglaff! And other English flotsam

As a history buff and lover of language, I am fascinated by the way words change over time. Like Shakespeare’s “glister.” All that glisters is not gold. Whatever happened to that?

My friend LC came across this post of moribund terms and all his Facebook friends agree we need to resurrect them.

For one thing, he is totally a spermologer. I am so grateful finally to have a word which describes him. And I? My life is ruled by curglaff. This is “the shock felt in bathing when one first plunges into the cold water — John Jamieson’s Etymological Scottish Dictionary, 1808.” Totally me. In fact, we just talked about it in therapy this week. We’re trying to get me to exercise more to ward off depression. I can’t be bothered. Except that it warms me up.

I am one of those perpetually cold people who likes to place her icy “hands of death” on the back of your neck to freak you out. I hate getting into the shower on Sunday mornings because I’m always cold from lounging in bed after reading the paper. I run screaming into the shower like a little girl. A rather foul-mouthed little girl.

So when I work out, I actually sweat. Imagine! It’s an unusual state for me. And when it comes time for a shower, curglaff is minimized. This is much to be admired.

Not my most exciting post ever, but I wanted to preserve this link for future fun. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

