Pippin

The Leading Player. Highland Theatre Company. I would (almost) kill to play this part again. I loved it at the time but wasn’t old enough to understand its depth.

This show introduced me to the vagaries of critics. One who reviewed the show named every male leading character but didn’t mention me at all. He mentioned Dave Vail, a chorus member, and didn’t mention me, the (say it with me) “Leading Player.”  Turned out (I discovered later) that the reviewer was a closeted gay, which explained a lot.

Leave a Reply

