My Fair Lady

Eliza Doolittle. Highland Theatre Company with assists from the Gregg Ladd company.

What a terrific show. “When musicals were musicals.” Though one of our directors briefly considered changing the ending so that when Higgins says, “Eliza, where the devil are my slippers?”, she would smile and get them for him. The cries of “Outrage!” and “Blasphemy!” made the director come to his senses.

In addition to playing the lead, I helped with marketing and did much of the costuming for the Ascot scene. I still remember the fumes as the divine Devonne and I blockaded ourselves in my garage and then spray-painted the hats black, white, and silver. We eventually coughed and hacked our way to the side door to avoid asphyxiation.

Chuckles made my stunning red and black dress for the ascot, cunningly fitting a Cool Whip container in the top of the hat to give it shape and sturdiness.

This was also where I met my first soulmate, a dashing and romantic soul who made me a better person. He would appear from nowhere, grab me by the waist, and whirl me into a flying waltz. <sigh> What more could a 17-year-old want? (Or any-year-old, come to think of it….)

Leave a Reply

